Concert at Mine no. 7

War and peace


June 8, 2019

7:00 pm

In contrast to the grit of the inside of the mining hall, Henning Kraggerud and The Arctic Philharmonic Chamber Orchestra will perform beautiful music, that was composed during the closing months of the second world war.

Imagine leaving the center of Longyearbyen, traveling to the top of the Mine 7 mountain. Here you will be taking in the stunning view over Adventdalen, before entering the hall of Longyearbyen’s only working mine.

By 1944, Richard Strauss' health was not good and he needed to visit the Swiss spa at Baden near Zurich. However, he was unable to get permission to travel abroad from the Nazi government. Some of his friends and music colleagues Karl Böhm, Paul Sacher and Willi Schu, decided to help him, by planning to get the travel permit: a commission from Sacher and invitation to the premier in Zurich. The commission was made in a letter from Bohm on August 28, 1944 for a "suite for strings". Strauss replied that he had been working for some time on an adagio for 11 strings.

Artistic director: Henning Kraggerud, violin

Arctic Philharmonc Chamber Orchestra


Henning Kraggerud, movements from Equinox

Richard Strauss, Metamorphosen - a study for 23 solo strings

Inside the hall, you will also find an exhibition with selected photos from Longyearbyen Fotoklubb, depicting life, nature, light and love of Svalbard.  

Single tickets for sale from February 15th.

Complete package tour for sale now - order before March 1st

A Peterson / Arctic Philharmonic
Eva Grøndal / Grøndal Foto

Buy ticketsComing soon