The Archduke and Beethoven


Longyearbyen Kulturhus


June 7, 2019

2:00 pm

In this series, we present you a selection of piano concerts, with the eminent pianist Imogen Cooper - performing at Longyearbyen Kulturhus.

The Archduke and Beethoven

During Beethoven’s “middle period” as a composer, many say that his style got more heroic, more passionate, romantic and more independent. Works from this period is among others his third symphony Eroica, his only opera Fidelio, and the piano sonatas Appassionato and Moonlight.

Beethoven’s Piano Trio, op 97, referred to as the Archduke trio, was written during this periode. Some of the middle periode works extend the musical language he had inherited from Haydn and Mozart. The Archduke trio was written during 1810 and was completed in March 1811. The work was dedicated to Archduke Rudolph of Austria, who was an amateur pianist and patron, and the youngest of twelve children of Leopold II, Holy Roman Emperor.

In total, Beethoven dedicated fourteen compositions to the Archduke.


Imogen Cooper, piano

Adrian Brendel, cello

Henning Kraggerud, violin


Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 - 1827),

Piano Trio, op 97,

1: Allegro moderato, 2: Scherzo(allegro), 3: Andante cantabile ma però conmoto. Poco piu adagio, 4: Allegro moderato – presto

Length of concert: 45 min


Tickets: Adult 290,-* / Fastboende (tilbud gjelder frem til 1. juni): 230,- / Student/child: 150,-

*Special offer for Piano Concert I, II & III: Buy three for the price of two.

You can purchase tickets via the link below.

Photos: Sim Canetty Clarke / Jack Liebeck / Kikkas

Buy tickets