Dvořák’s doubts


Longyearbyen Kulturhus


June 9, 2019

12:00 pm

In this series, we present you a selection of piano concerts, with the eminent pianist Imogen Cooper - performing at Longyearbyen Kulturhus.

Second judgement

Not all compositions make it to the line of masterpieces through history, and some needs a second judgement before achieving the status of being a masterpiece. In this concert you will hear Antonin Dvořák’s second piano quintet. This was his second piece written for this instrumentation. After Dvořák finished his first quintet, he was not at all satisfied with the result. Actually, he was so dissatisfied with his creation that he destroyed the score after the piece had been premiered.

It took over fifteen years after this “failure” before Dvořák finally decided to write an entirely new quintet. This second quintet was written during the fall of 1887, and had it’s premiere in Prague in January1888. With lyricism, expressivity and inspiration from the folk music, the piece has gained acknowledged as one of the masterpieces in the piano quintet repertoire.


Antonín Dvořák,

Piano Quintet No. 2 in A major, Op. 81

1: Allegro ma non tanto, 2: Dumka: Andante con moto,3: Scherzo (Furiant) – molto vivace, 4: Finale – allegro



Imogen Cooper, piano

Henning Kraggerud, violin

Yuko Kawami, violin

Julia Neher, viola

Adrian Brendel, cello

Please note - the correct time of this event is 12.00 PM (Midday).

Length of concert: 40 min


Tickets: Adult 290,-* / Fastboende (tilbud gjelder frem til 1. juni): 230,- / Student/child: 150,-

*Special offer for Piano Concert I, II & III: Buy three for the price of two.

Tickets can be purchased from the link below.

Photo: David Gonzales, Sim Canetty Clarke

Buy tickets