Mozart & Brahms


Logyearbyen Kulturhus


June 8, 2019

2:00 pm

In this series, we present you a selection of piano concerts, with the eminent pianist Imogen Cooper - performing at Longyearbyen Kulturhus.


Mozart was both a genius and a very busy composer. Writing music for the nobles across Europe. In 1785, her received a commission for three quartets from the German composer and music publisher Franz Anton Hoffmeister.

The first quartet in this commission project, his g-minor quartet (K.478), was a piece of considerable complexity, very difficult for the musicians to perform, thus failed to appeal in the market of amateur musicians. The commissioner Hoffmeister was not satisfied with the result of the poor sales, and abandoned the project, cancelling the publishing of the two remaining quartets.


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart:

Piano Quartet No. 2 in E-Flat major, K. 493

1: Allegro, 2: Larghetto, 3: Allegretto

Johannes Brahms:

Brahms Sextet no 1 in B-Major


Imogen Cooper, piano

Henning Kraggerud, violin

Brynjar Lien Schulerud, violin

Heidi Schulerud Bilsbak, viola

Julia Neher, viola

Karen Aukner, viola

Adrian Brendel, cello

Håvard Bilsbak, cello

Length of concert: 60 min


Tickets: Adult 290,-* / Fastboende (tilbud gjelder frem til 1. juni): 230,- / Student/child: 150,-

*Special offer for Piano Concert I, II & III: Buy three for the price of two.

You can purchase tickets via the link below.

Photo: iStock

Buy tickets