Schubert's "The trout"

Lunchtime concert

Longyearbyen Kulturhus


February 12, 2020

12:00 am

Experience the music of Schubert at the popular festival lunch-concert at Kulturhuset.

We will introduce you to Schubert's masterpiece for piano quintet, well known under it's nickname "The Trout". The piece is written for piano, violin, viola, cello and double bass. Young Schubert wrote this piece at the age of 22, but it was not published until 1892, one year after his death. The popular name of the quintet, "The Trout", came because the fourth movement is musically variations on another well-known piece by Schubert, for voice and piano, with the same name, "The Trout".


Franz Schubert, Piano Quintet

1 - Allegro vivace, 2- Andante, 3 - Scherzo: Presto, 4 -Andantino - Allegretto, 5 - Allegro giusto

With musicians from Arctic Philharmonic.

Tickets: 150,-

Students: 100,-

Photo: Yngve Olsen / Arctic Philharmonic

Buy ticketsFree admission